bad glasses?

Discussion in 'Glasses' started by tarverdan, Jan 13, 2015.

1. tarverdan

tarverdan

Settle in. This may take a while. On December 3rd I decided to purchase new glasses and selected a nationally-known franchise. The principal reason I went to the doc was that the coating on the glasses I had been wearing for 4 or 5 years had become scratched.

I thought that I'd get an exam while I was at it. I was going to purchase just lenses to be fitted into my existing frames. I have been wearing progressive lens for probably 20 years, if not longer. I intended to buy them again only this time without any of the coatings offered.

The prescription they came up with was:
    OD sphere -2.25 cyl -0.50 x 90 add +2.25
    OS sphere -2.50 cyl -0.50 x 60 add +2.25

It means nothing to me as I am not an optometrist.

With the first pair of lenses the seg height seemed to be too high. I had to put my chin on my chest in order to see the floor in front of me clearly (for example) a distance that was no problem for my old lenses. The store owner said that this was normal and that my brain would figure it out in time. Having worn glasses for decades, I wasn't convinced. They made and installed another set of lenses. Seg height better. Now I was experiencing a "fishbowl effect" that was most readily noticeable when I was looking at my computer screen. As I turned my head slightly from side-to-side the rectangular screen became a rhomboid. Eveything was rocking and rolling like a funhouse. I was unable to see clearly at distance, as well. I returned to the store.